Account Management
Account Management
When you first sign up for Vercel, you'll create an account. This account is used to manage your Vercel resources. Vercel has three types of plans:
Each plan offers different features and resources, allowing you to choose the right plan for your needs.
When signing up for Vercel, you can choose to sign up with an email address or a Git provider.
Sign up with email
To sign up with email:
- Enter your email address to receive the six-digit one-time password (OTP)
- Enter the OTP to proceed with logging in successfully.
When signing up with your email, no Git provider will be connected by default. See login methods and connections for information on how to connect a Git provider. If no Git provider is connected, you will be asked to verify your account on every login attempt.
Sign up with a Git provider
You can sign up with any of the following supported Git providers:
Authorize Vercel to access your Git provider account. This will be the default login connection on your account.
Login methods and connections
You can manage your login connections in the Authentication section of your account settings. To find this section:
- Select your profile picture near the top-right of the dashboard
- Select Settings in the dropdown that appears
- Select Authentication in the list near the left side of the page
Login with passkeys
Passkeys allow you to log into your Vercel account using biometrics such as face or fingerprint recognition, PINs, hardware security keys, and more.
To add a new passkey:
- From the dashboard, click your account avatar and select Settings. In your account settings, go to the Authentication item
- Under Add New, select the Passkey button and then click Continue
- Select the authenticator of preference. This list depends on your browser and your eligible devices. By default, Vercel will default to a password manager if you have one installed on your browser and will automatically prompt you to save the passkey
- Follow the instructions on the device or with the account you've chosen as an authenticator
When you're done, the passkey will appear in a list of login methods on the Authentication page, alongside your other connections.
Logging in with SAML Single Sign-On
SAML Single Sign-On enables you to log into your Vercel team with your organization's identity provider which manages your credentials.
SAML Single Sign-On is available to Enterprise teams, or Pro teams can purchase it as a paid add-on from their Billing settings. The feature can be configured by team Owners from the team's Security & Privacy settings.
Choosing a connection when creating a project
When you create an account on Vercel, you will be prompted to create a project by either importing a Git repository or using a template.
Either way, you must connect a Git provider to your account, which you'll be able to use as a login method in the future.
Using an existing login connection
Your Hobby team on Vercel can have only one login connection per third-party service. For example, you can only log into your Hobby team with a single GitHub account.
For multiple logins from the same service, create a new Vercel Hobby team.
Managing your profile
You can change your personal avatar and username in your account settings.
If you're an Enterprise Managed User, your organization manages your profile, and you can't change your avatar or username yourself.
Changing your avatar
To update your personal avatar:
- Open your account settings.
- In the Avatar section, select your current avatar.
- Choose a PNG, JPEG, or WebP image from your files.
- Adjust the crop and click Set Avatar.
Your new avatar appears when the upload completes.
Changing your username
Your username identifies your personal account and its URL namespace, vercel.com/<username>. To change it:
- Open your account settings.
- In the Username section, enter your new username using up to 48 characters.
- Click Save.
Vercel displays a confirmation when your username updates.
Teams
Teams on Vercel let you collaborate with other members on projects and access additional resources.
Switching teams
To view another team's projects and resources:
- Open the Vercel dashboard.
- Select the team switcher at the top left of the navigation bar.
- Select the team you want to view from the list of teams you belong to.
To choose which team appears when you first log in or open the dashboard, change your default team.
Creating a team
- Click on the team switcher at the top left of the nav bar
- Choose to create a new team
- Name your team
- Depending on the types of team plans that you have already created, you'll be able to select a team plan option:
To create an Authorization Bearer token, see the access token section of the API documentation.
curl --request POST \
--url https://api.vercel.com/v1/teams \
--header "Authorization: Bearer $VERCEL_TOKEN" \
--header "Content-Type: application/json" \
--data '{
"slug": "<team-slug>",
"name": "<team-name>"
}'
To create an Authorization Bearer token, see the access token section of the API documentation.
import { Vercel } from '@vercel/sdk';
const vercel = new Vercel({
bearerToken: '<YOUR_BEARER_TOKEN_HERE>',
});
async function run() {
const result = await vercel.teams.createTeam({
slug: 'team-slug',
name: 'team-name',
});
// Handle the result
console.log(result);
}
run();
Collaborating with other members on projects is available on the Pro and Enterprise plans.
Upgrade from the Hobby plan to Pro to add team members.
Experience Vercel Pro for free
Unlock the full potential of Vercel Pro during your 14-day trial with $20 in credits. Benefit from Pro features like team collaboration and enhanced analytics.
After creating a new trial, you'll have 14 days of Pro premium features and collaboration for free, except for features limited to paid Pro such as the free first-year custom domain offer (see trial limitations).
Team membership
You can join a Vercel team through an invitation from a team owner, automatic addition by a team's identity provider, or by pushing a commit to a private Git repository owned by the team. If you have a Vercel account linked to your Git provider, and the team has enabled Auto Approval, you'll be automatically added to the team. If the team has enabled Manual Approval, a team Owner must approve your membership first.
Leaving a team
You can't leave a team if you are the last remaining owner or the last confirmed member.
To leave a team:
- If there isn't another owner for your team, you must assign a different confirmed member as the team owner
- Go to your team's dashboard and open Settings in the sidebar
- Scroll to the Leave Team section and select the Leave Team button
- Click Confirm
- If you are the only remaining member, you should delete the team instead
Deleting a team
To delete a team:
- Remove all team domains
- Go to your team's dashboard and open Settings in the sidebar
- Scroll to the Delete Team section and select the Delete Team button
- Click Confirm
If you'd prefer to cease payment instead of deleting your team, you can downgrade to Hobby.
Default team
Your default team will be used when you make a request through the API or CLI and don’t specify a specific team. It will also be the team shown whenever you first log in to Vercel or navigate to /dashboard. The first Hobby or Pro team you create will automatically be nominated as the default team.